Learn about the

FSW Visa Canada


Federal Skilled Worker Program FSWP

The Federal Skilled Worker Program is one of the three programs under the Express Entry system. Based on their work experience, language skills, and other factors, skilled workers may choose to apply for permanent residence in Canada under this program.


Who is eligible for the Federal Skilled Worker Program?

The primary eligibility criteria for the FSWP is a minimum of 67 points under the following six selection factors.
The maximum points for each of the factors are:

Apart from this basic eligibility, the factors also include

Work Experience: At least one year of paid continuous full-time or equal amount part-time skilled work experience in the NOC code 0, A, B in the past ten years

Language Proficiency: A minimum language ability of CLB 7 in either of the approved language tests of IELTS or CELPIP

Education: Completed education equivalent to Canadian secondary or post-secondary school assessed and certified by an approved Education Credential Assessment (ECA) Report.

Proof of Funds: Funds sufficient for you (and your family) to settle in Canada unless you have a valid offer of arranged employment in Canada or are currently working or authorized to work in Canada.

Other factors: Your admissibility to Canada and the intent to reside outside the province of Quebec once approved.

Where can I get my Educational Credential Assessment done?

To ensure its validity and equivalence to the Canadian educational system, an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) is required for all foreign education credentials, including a degree, diploma, or certificate.
The IRCC has a list of designated organizations for ECA, and the processing time and cost vary for each.
The IRCC has also designated professional bodies for ECA for physicians and pharmacists: